Milk

The main plant-based milks available are rice milk, soya milk, oat milk and almond milk. Personally, I like rice milk on cereal (Rice Dream is the most neutral-tasting one I've found) and soya milk in tea. Soya milk is a bit thicker than rice milk and works better for making white sauce as it thickens more easily. In baking, rice or oat milk generally work equally well as soya milk and it doesn't make a difference to the taste of the finished product which one you use. I haven't tried almond milk myself, but I'm told it's quite a bit richer and creamier than the other types of milk. There are sweetened and unsweetened versions of plain soya milk and there are also flavoured versions (mainly chocolate and vanilla). Be careful not to accidentally use vanilla-flavoured soya milk in savoury recipes though - believe me, vanilla-flavoured lasagne does not work...

Be careful when using soya milk in tea or coffee as it has a tendency to curdle if you put it straight into boiling liquid. For tea, let it cool down a bit first (either in a pot or the cup) and add the soya milk just before you are ready to drink it. I'm not much of a coffee drinker myself and I prefer it without milk anyway, so I'm afraid I've not devised an ideal method of soya milk use for it. Oatly cream also works in tea as it's a bit thicker than oat or rice milk.

Some people are put off the idea of non-dairy milk because they've encountered soya milk and don't like the taste. I don't blame them - before I gave up cow milk I couldn't stand the taste of soya milk, but through having it in cups of tea I've got used to it. On the other hand some people really like it, my dad has it on his breakfast cereal because he prefers the taste.

If you can't or don't drink cow milk and don't like the taste of soya milk, try some of the other types of plant milk until you find one you like. Different brands of the same type of milk often have different tastes, so it's worth trying a few different ones. Soya milk is an acquired taste for some people so you might find you're able to get used to it gradually, such as by using in tea, or you could start off by trying a flavoured version if the plain one's not your thing.

A word of warning: look out for brands containing vitamin D (unless it's listed as vitamin D2, which is vegan) as this sometimes comes from a non-vegan source. Oatly's 'enriched' oat milk is not suitable for vegans, but the rest of their UK products are (according to an email from the company in September 08). Many non-dairy milks are labelled as suitable for vegans, which saves the guesswork.